Fiberside Chats


Bazaar Girls has teamed up with Longmont Yarn Shoppe in Colorado and other shops across the country to present Fiberside Chats with famous designers. Register at Longmont Yarn Shoppe and scroll down to find the Bazaar Girls sign-up. It’s a great way to support yarn shops, designers and have some fun too!

 


November 21

Sarah Schira of Imagined Landscapes

You may know Sarah Schira of Imagined Landscapes for #NeverNotGnoming! You might not know Sarah is also passionate about helping you create projects that are fun to knit and make you happy when you are finished! She wants you to find pleasure and satisfaction in the making of her patterns. Sarah loves to design accessories that look more difficult than they are, and that flatter you while you live your everyday adventures.

Join us at Fiberside Chats as Sarah demonstrates tips for finishing stuffed toys with finesse! Then she’ll lead us in exploring the emotions of color – not just whether something has enough contrast or not, but helping you diagnose your own emotional reactions and style preferences to colors. You don’t want to miss this Chat – beginning with some finishing and ending with a new perspective on colors!

About Sarah:
Sarah and her husband live in Manitoba, Canada, where they’ve raised their two kids to adulthood. Homeschooling both kids, coaching, and doing a lot of volunteer work with adult learners has fired Sarah’s passion for anticipating problems before they happen and teaching so that people feel supercharged to be adventurous in their knitting.

“We travel to Germany to visit Rainer’s family and when I’m abroad, I miss the big skies; when I’m here, I miss the cobblestones and shops. It’s my passion for travel that inspires Imagined Landscapes designs.” ImaginedLandscapes.com

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, November 21st at 4:00 pm Eastern, 3:00 pm Central, 2:00 pm Mountain, 1:00 pm Pacific.

Register Here


November 28 

Aimée Gille – La Bien Aimée

Fiberside Chats: Aimée Gille - La Bien Aimée November 28th

Join us as we zoom to France to visit with Aimée Gille, the founder, and yarn dyer behind the magic of La Bien Aimée! Aimee will take us on a tour of her first book, Worsted, A Knitwear Collection Curated by Aimée Gille of La Bien Aimée. This diversified collection features 14 patterns by 10 incredible designers, including Nancy Marchant, Tif Neilan, Stephen West, Sylvia Watts-Cherry, and more…  Aimée will present each design individually and talk about the different designers and their inspirations. Bonus – we’ll also get an insider’s view about the process of creating a new yarn base, Corrie Worsted, and how it inspired her to create this highly anticipated book!

She’ll introduce us to another passion project of hers as well, the super-popular Corrie Confetti, and devote the end of the Chat to Q & A.

In Aimée’s own words: “I hope that you will welcome the adventure of casting on a new project from this book with perhaps some of that beloved yarn you have curated for your stash or why not go on a yarn escapade and mix Corrie Worsted with other yarns.”

About Aimée:
Aimée Gille is a Korean-American living in Paris, France. In 2008, she opened L’OisiveThé, a cheery knit café hosting weekly knit nights for knitters and crafters from all over the world. Following the success of L’OisiveThé, Aimée started her own yarn company La Bien Aimée in 2015. As a self-taught dyer, Aimée is inspired by her childhood, travels, and encounters with people, and uses yarn as a way to tell stories and share experiences. Place and culture are particularly important to Aimée, which is shown in her yarn colorways inspired by her Korean culture as well as her iconic ‘Yellow Brick Road’ color, which reflects not only the state of Kansas where she grew up but also her Asian heritage.

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, November 28 at 1:00 pm Eastern, 12:00 pm Central, 11:00 am Mountain, 10:00 am Pacific.

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded – a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only.

Register Here

December 4

ARNE & CARLOS

ARNE & CARLOS always have something new going on! At this Fiberside Chat, we’ll touch base with our old friends and learn all about how they created Norwegian Wool and how the yarn inspired their designs for the two Rowan Books that launched this year. There will be a run-through of all the designs and some fun, behind-the-scenes anecdotes and stories from the photoshoot. And of course, it wouldn’t be December without some talk about their ever-popular Christmas Balls, their Advent Calendar project, and Christmas Calendar for 2021!

Scandinavians Arne Nerjordet and Carlos Zachrisson are highly regarded fashion designers, textile artists, YouTubers, and authors. They are best known for their original, colorful, and visually striking designs as well as their knitwear and their books. Their work is highly influenced by their Scandinavian background and their everyday life in rural Norway. They work under their artist name ARNE & CARLOS, which they established in 2001.

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Saturday, December 4th at 1:00 pm Eastern, 12:00 pm Central, 11:00 am Mountain, 10:00 am Pacific, and 7:00 pm CET.

Register Here


December 11

Carson Demers

Fiberside Chats: Carson Demers December 11th

Surviving the Holiday Knit-a-thon!

The holidays are right around the corner and many of us are frantically knitting gifts for those we love. Unfortunately, and too often, that comes at a cost to our post-holiday physical comfort. Deadline knitting can be stressful and takes its toll on our bodies.
Join Carson for this Fiberside Chat and you’ll learn about some common areas of vulnerability to discomfort and injury, what can cause it, and what to do if YOU overdo it!

By day, Carson is a physical therapist who manages an ergonomics program for a San Francisco Bay Area medical center. Every other moment, he’s knitting, spinning, designing, teaching, writing, or otherwise up to some fiber fun, always with a watchful eye toward ergonomics. His passion and experience in fiber arts combine with his expertise in physical therapy and ergonomics to create a unique skill set that he eagerly shares with the fiber community. His aim is to keep us all creating healthfully and comfortably ever after.

Carson is the author and publisher of, Knitting Comfortably: The Ergonomics of Handknitting, is a frequent contributor to fiber and craft-related publications, and teaches throughout the US and internationally. Visit him online at www.ergoiknit.com to learn more.

This is a live Zoom Event on Saturday, December 11 at 2:00 pm Eastern, 1:00 pm Central, 12:00 pm Mountain, 11:00 am Pacific.

Register Here

To follow Fiberside Chats on Facebook or Instagram, or to get more information on these and upcoming Fiberside Chats events. Visit  https://www.longmontyarn.com/fiberside-chats-from-longmont-yarn-shoppe.htm