Fiberside Chats


Bazaar Girls has teamed up with Longmont Yarn Shoppe in Colorado and other shops across the country to present Fiberside Chats with famous designers.

Register at Longmont Yarn Shoppe and scroll down to find the Bazaar Girls sign up. It’s a great way to support yarn shops, designers and have some fun too!

Upcoming Fiberside Chats:

February 28

Norah Gaughan

Norah will walk us through her newest book, Norah Gaughan’s Twisted Stitch Sourcebook filled with beautiful images of the stitches and garments, while she explains the many ways to use the book, no matter your skill level. As a bonus, we’ll see photos from Norah’s first issue of Vogue Knitting as editor in Chief. We think you’ll be thrilled with the expanded size range and relaxed photography.

Now the Editor in Chief of Vogue Knitting, Norah has spent her life immersed in knitting—as a freelancer for yarn companies and knitting magazines, then overseeing the Reynolds, Artful Yarns & Adrienne Vittadini Yarn lines as the design director at JCA, and as the design director at Berroco for nearly nine years. The author of Knitting Nature and Norah Gaughan’s Knitted Cable Sourcebook. Her newest labor of love, a sourcebook of twisted stitches is available now! Follow Norah on Instagram:  Norahgn and on her website: norahgaughan.com 

This is a live one-time Zoom Event on Sunday, February 28th at 5:00 pm Eastern, 4:00 pm Central, 3:00 pm Mountain, 2:00 pm Pacific

Register Here

March 7th

Andrea Rangel

Sarah Solomon started knitting as an adult fueled by a passion to knit sweaters.  A self-styled “sweater evangelist” she now works to bring more knitters into the sweater-knitting fold through her patterns and teaching.  With a background in woven construction and dressmaking, Sarah brings a love of details and fine finishing to her hand knitting designs and enjoys creating and teaching techniques that are simple to master but yield beautiful, long-lasting results.  One of her favorite techniques to share is a double-knit button band with self-reinforced buttonholes that lend a refined look and long life to a hand-knit cardigan.  Sarah will demonstrate the basics of the technique and show samples that make use of it.  She’ll also present an overview of her work to illustrate her approach to designing knitwear that combines elements of fashion, textile and applied design.

Sarah Solomon is a knitwear designer, writer, and teacher based in New York City.  Her patterns and articles have appeared in Interweave Knits, Knitscene, knit.wear, Pom Pom Quarterly, and Vogue Knitting, and in collections by yarn companies large and small. She divides her time between designing and teaching and has also recently joined the editorial team of Vogue Knitting magazine.  Her interests include everything from traditional techniques to colorwork to fine finishing, with a particular emphasis on garment construction.  She is also an avid sewer and spinner and loves handwork in many forms.  In her design work, Sarah creates garments and accessories from exceptional yarns that are knittable, wearable, and designed to last.  Find her patterns on Ravelry and follow her work at www.intothewool.wordpress.com or on Instagram as @intothewool.

This is a live one-time Zoom Event on Sunday, March 7th at 6:00 pm Eastern, 5:00 pm Central, 4:00 pm Mountain, 3:00 pm Pacific.

Register Here

March 14

Mr. Knitbear and Dendennis

A message from Mr. Knitbear and Dendennis: 
Knitting socks has been popular for a while, but we were missing a certain style, something more humorous and cheerful, something unique. Not just socks with Fair Isle patterns. We wanted socks that we’d wear for evenings on the sofa at home but also socks for special occasions, business appointments, teaching in class, and nights out on the town.
We rose to the challenge to design socks that will inspire others to start knitting too and to show that you can create very cheerful and striking patterns with Fair Isle knitting, from flamingos to skulls and from avocados to geometric patterns.
In addition to showing our unique and fun socks, we will demonstrate how to knit a turned stitch, which you’ll need for the boomerang heel and how we knit with two colors in a row. Hopefully, we’ll manage to inspire and motivate you to start on the great adventure of knitting socks!

Once there were two men…
Dennis, better known as Dendennis the crochet guy, was looking for people to test his crochet patterns. And Wim, another crochet enthusiast, took on the task. Not what Dennis had expected: a guy from Belgium who could test patterns well and who is extremely creative to boot. After years of testing and online contact, in 2018 there was a crocheting cruise in the south of the Netherlands. Wim and Dennis both went on the cruise and spent the entire day knitting and crocheting on a ship in the sun. A representative of Lang Yarns was also on this ship. The three of them got talking — and the idea to do something together was born. Dennis immediately suggested making a knitting pattern book. The big problem was that Dennis didn’t know how to knit yet. But Wim did. This was actually the perfect opportunity for a book. If Wim could teach Dennis how to knit, he should be able to explain it to others as well. And that is how this great adventure began.

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, March 14th at 3:00 pm Eastern, 2:00 pm Central, 1:00 pm Mountain, 12:00 pm Pacific.

Register Here

March 21

Holli Yeoh

Intarsia and Duplicate Stitch

Join Holli Yeoh for a chat on tackling the intricacies of intarsia to add blocks and motifs of color to your knitting. You’ll learn all the basics including joining colors, avoiding holes, managing all those ends and tangles, reading graphs, and tension issues. She’ll show you how duplicate stitches can be used to fix mistakes, draw outlines, and add even more color after the project is done. Holli breaks down the techniques into simple relatable ideas and actions, taking the fear out of trying something new.

Holli’s passion for knitting has spanned a lifetime, from learning to knit as a child to her fine arts degree majoring in textiles and jewelry, and an almost 20-year designing career. A Holli Yeoh pattern is sure to offer something to learn, as well as a casually elegant aesthetic. Interesting techniques, clear instructions, and inclusive sizing ensure a rewarding knit with beautiful results, as featured in leading publications and her book Tempest. 

Holli feels strongly about fine craftsmanship, believing that while there’s more than one right way to do things, it’s important to do it right! To this end, she teaches skills that enable knitters to feel justified pride in their finished projects, while accommodating different knitting styles and preferences. Students leave her workshops with an arsenal of valuable techniques, a deep understanding of the choices to be made in knitting, and new confidence. Find her patterns on Ravelry and follow her work on Instagram at @holliyeoh and her website at holliyeoh.com.

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, March 21st at 1:00 pm Eastern, 12:00 pm Central, 11:00 am Mountain, 10:00 am Pacific.

Register Here

To follow Fiberside Chats on Facebook or Instagram, or to get more information on these and upcoming Fiberside Chats events. Visit  https://www.longmontyarn.com/fiberside-chats-from-longmont-yarn-shoppe.htm